Zimbabwe clinch their first ODI series away in 8 years.

Zimbabwe clinch their first ODI series away in 8 years.

The Chevrons have made history by clinching their first ever ODI series against Sri Lanka. Zimbabwe’s sterling show in the series has been built on significant contributions made by their batsmen. Hamilton Masakadza, Solomon Mire, Sean Williams, Craig Ervine, Malcolm Waller and Sikandar Raza have all been among the runs. Zimbabwe fired warning shots when they chased down a target in excess of 300 in the first game becoming the first ever country to catch up with such a target on Sri Lankan soil and overhauling a target of 219 in just 29.5 overs (via DLS Method) in the fourth ODI. However, the lack of penetration on the bowling front has hurt Zimbabwe and that can be illustrated by Sri Lanka chasing down a target of 311 for the loss of just two wickets in the third game.

Zimbabwe last made such kinds of victories long back when they usurped a formidable Australian side in the 1983 World Cup. The Chevrons also reached the Super Six stage of the 1999 World Cup and won an overseas Test series against Pakistan in 1998-99. Now we can say the Chevrons are basking in old time victories again where they used to be a formidable side to battle with and indeed now they are causing ripples in the cricketing landscape. Chevrons are ranked 11th in the world and one of the only two African countries with full ICC membership status. Despite their status Zimbabwe hasn’t seen much game with fellow full member states and were force to grant matches to second tier nations like Canada,Scotland, Afghanistan and Netherlands so that they don’t get rusty.

Summary of Series results:

1st ODI: Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe at Galle – Jun 30, 2017

Sri Lanka 316/5 (50/50 ov); Zimbabwe 322/4 (47.4/50 ov)

  • Zimbabwe won by 6 wickets (with 14 balls remaining)

2nd ODI: Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe at Galle – Jul 2, 2017

Zimbabwe 155 (33.4/50 ov); Sri Lanka 158/3 (30.1/50 ov)


  • Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets (with 119 balls remaining)

3rd ODI: Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe at Hambantota – Jul 6, 2017

Zimbabwe 310/8 (50/50 ov); Sri Lanka 312/2 (47.2/50 ov)

  • Sri Lanka won by 8 wickets (with 16 balls remaining)

4th ODI: Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe at Hambantota – Jul 8, 2017

Sri Lanka 300/6 (50/50 ov); Zimbabwe 219/6 (29.2/31 ov, target: 219)

  • Zimbabwe won by 4 wickets (with 10 balls remaining) (D/L method)

5th ODI: Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe at Hambantota – Jul 10, 2017

Sri Lanka 203-8 (50ov); Zimbabwe 204-7(38.1 ov)

  • Zimbabwe won by 4 wickets
Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews(c), Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Asela Gunaratne, Wanidu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Dushmantha Chameera, Lasith Malinga, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Asitha Fernando and Lahiru Kumara.
Zimbabwe: Solomon Mire, Hamilton Masakadza, Ryan Burl, Graeme Cremer(c), Craig Ervine, Sean Williams, Peter Moor, Sikandar Raza, Tendai Chatara, Chris Mpofu, Donald Tiripano, Richard Ngarava, Malcolm Waller, Chamu Chibhabha, Tarisai Musakanda and Carl Mumba.
Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

July 2017
« Jun   Aug »

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Skip to toolbar